Home Page


Message from the Chair of the Board of Governors                                       

The aim of the Board of Governors at our school is to work with the staff in helping the children achieve their full potential in a happy, caring environment.


We do this in four main ways:

  • Monitoring the performance and progress of our children;
  • Working with the staff to help them teach and care for our children;
  • Deciding on how the resources of the school are best used;
  • Planning ahead so that the performance of our children and our school continues to improve.


To deliver this effectively, the Governing Board members are representative of all the key groups involved in our school – the parents, the staff, the Local Authority and the church community. All of these people have the best interests of the school at heart and give a great deal of time in support of St. Mary's School.


We meet together at least once a term as a whole team, and sub committees (such as our Outcomes Committee and Resources Committee) meet regularly. In addition we each have a specialist area that we take particular interest in (eg. Maths, English, Science and Special Needs), and we are linked with individual year groups to track their progress as they grow and develop through the school.


We are always keen to hear your views and I hope that we can work together to ensure that St. Mary's continues to develop "from Good to Outstanding" over the next few years.


​If anyone in interested in becoming a school Governor, information can be found on the Birmingham Diocesan Schools Commission and Sandwell Local Authority websites.


Mr P Piddock
Chair of the Board of Governors


Contact details:

c/o St. Mary's Catholic Primary School, Manor House Road, Wednesbury, WS10 9PN.


Terms of Reference for Governing Board meetings

Meet the Governors

Sub Committees of the Board of Governors


Performance & Ethos Committee Resources Committee Strategic Committee

Mr M Moran

Mr D Cooper (Chair)

Mr N Bartram

Mrs R Moran

Mr P Piddock

Mr G Linford (Principal)

Mr M Moran (Chair)

Mr P Piddock

Ms D Rutherford

Mr G Linford (Principal)



Mr P Piddock (Chair)

Mr M Moran (Vice Chair)

Mr D Cooper

Mr G Linford (Principal)



Special Responsibility Governors


Special Responsibility held Name of Governor

Safeguarding/Child Protection Governor

Mr P Piddock

Special Educational Need & Disability (SEND) Governor

Ms D Rutherford/ Mrs R Moran

Health & Safety Governor

Mr P Piddock

Safer Recruitment Governor

Mr G Linford,

Mrs R Moran, Mr P Piddock

Pupil Premium Mr M Moran

Religious Education

Mr P Piddock


Mr D Cooper

Writing Mr D Cooper


Mr M Moran/ Mr N Bartram


Mrs R Moran

Computing Mr P Piddock

Website Compliance

Mr P Piddock


Mr P Piddock

Mr M Moran (Pupil Premium)

Ms D Rutherford (SEND)

Foundation Stage (Reception & Nursery)

Ms D Rutherford

Years 1 & 2

Mr P Piddock

Years 3 & 4

Mr N Bartram/ Mrs R Moran

Years 5 & 6

Mr D Cooper


Summary of Governing Board membership


Governor name Type Chair (Ch) or Vice Chair (VC) Committee Chair


& Ethos 

Committee member

Resources Committee member Strategic Committee member Connections to Staff (Yes or No) If Yes, who & how Term of Office End Date Other School Governor posts held Business interests declared (Yes/No)
Nick Bartram FOU     YES       29.07.19   NO
Dominic Cooper FOU             07.12.19   NO
Michael Moran FOU VC Performance & Ethos YES YES YES   09.09.18   NO
Ria Moran FOU     YES       16.10.22   NO
Paul Piddock FOU Ch Strategic YES YES YES   31.08.18

Stuart Bathurst  (Chair)

& Holy Trinity Primary School, West Bromwich

Dawn Rutherford FOU       YES     09.10.18   NO
Suraiya Ali PAR          



18.11.22   NO
VACANT PAR             18.11.22   NO
VACANT STA     YES       30.09.19   NO
Gary Linford STA     YES YES YES   N/A   NO

FOU - Foundation Governor appointed by the Diocese

LA - Local Authority appointed

PAR - Parent Governor

STA - Staff Governor

COP - Co-opted Governor appointed by the Governing Body

Attendance at Governing Board meetings 2019/20


2019-20 Type Meetings called Meetings attended % Attendance
Nick Bartram Foundation 4 4 100
Dominic Cooper Foundation 6 5 83
Jane Dalloway (till 31/3/2020) Foundation 7 6 86
Michael Moran Foundation 8 7 88
Ria Moran Foundation 4 4 100
Paul Piddock Foundation 8 8 100
Dawn Rutherford   5 3 60
Suraiya Ali Parent 4 3 75
Sarah Scattergood (till 31/3/2020) Parent 4 3 75
Amy Pritchard (till 31/10/19) Staff 1 1 100
Gary Linford Head Teacher 8 8 100


Home Page
  • St. Mary's
  • Catholic Primary School
  • There are no events for the next 10 weeks.
Read more
  • Nursery 95.0%
  • Reception 96.6%
  • Year 1 97.3%
  • Year 2 98.9%
  • Year 3 97.4%
  • Year 4 96.4%
  • Year 5 96.3%
  • Year 6 96.8%
House Points
  • Saint Anne
  • Saint Bernadette
  • Saint Gabriel
  • Saint Joseph